<!-- --><style type="text/css">@import url(https://www.blogger.com/static/v1/v-css/navbar/3334278262-classic.css); div.b-mobile {display:none;} </style> </head><body><script type="text/javascript"> function setAttributeOnload(object, attribute, val) { if(window.addEventListener) { window.addEventListener('load', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }, false); } else { window.attachEvent('onload', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }); } } </script> <div id="navbar-iframe-container"></div> <script type="text/javascript" src="https://apis.google.com/js/plusone.js"></script> <script type="text/javascript"> gapi.load("gapi.iframes:gapi.iframes.style.bubble", function() { if (gapi.iframes && gapi.iframes.getContext) { gapi.iframes.getContext().openChild({ url: 'https://www.blogger.com/navbar.g?targetBlogID\x3d28749891\x26blogName\x3dLiving+Out+Loud+with+Darian\x26publishMode\x3dPUBLISH_MODE_BLOGSPOT\x26navbarType\x3dLIGHT\x26layoutType\x3dCLASSIC\x26searchRoot\x3dhttps://loldarian.blogspot.com/search\x26blogLocale\x3den_US\x26v\x3d2\x26homepageUrl\x3dhttp://loldarian.blogspot.com/\x26vt\x3d-470738325284401151', where: document.getElementById("navbar-iframe-container"), id: "navbar-iframe" }); } }); </script>
0 comments | Tuesday, January 22, 2008

GLAAD(Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation)recently announced the 2008 honorees and nominees for their 19th Annual GLAAD Media Awards. Making the list this year are loldarian.com favorites Dirty Laundry in the category of best film-limited release and mega-star Janet Jackson and out actor Wilson Cruz, both are being honored for their commitment to the LGBT community.

Janet Jackson will be receiving the Vanguard Award at the Los Angeles ceremony and Wilson Cruz will be receiving the Visibilidad Award at the South Florida ceremony.

The Vanguard Award is presented to media professionals who, through their work, have increased the visibility and understanding of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community. Past recipients include Charlize Theron, Antonio Banderas, Eric McCormack, Elizabeth Taylor, Liza Minnelli, and Whoopi Goldberg.

The Visibilidad Award is presented to an openly lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender Spanish-language media professional who has made a significant difference in promoting equal rights for our community. Previous Visibilidad honorees include Richard PĂ©rez-Feria and Jaime Bayly.

Kudos to Maurice Jamal and the entire cast and crew of Dirty Laundry for receiving their second nomination of the season.

The GLAAD Awards will take place in four cities throughout the U.S., New York on March 17th at the Marriot Marquis, South Florida on April 12th(Wilson Cruz) at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino, Los Angeles on April 26th(Janet Jackson) at the Kodak Theater and San Francisco on May 10th at the San Francisco Marriott.

For a full list of nominees click here. To purchase tickets click here.


Post a Comment

<< Home